Nearly perfect TLT (Tofu, Lettuce, Tomato)

Yep, it’s nearly perfect! In the macronutrient department anyway.

I try to aim for a 45-25-30 macro ratio. That’s carbs-protein-fat. This sandwich is about 40-25-35 in the macro ratio department. So yes, it’s nearly perfect. So close. You could probably cut the veganaise down to half a tbsp and it would be even closer. But, that also depends on your own personal macro goals too.

TLT tofu, lettuce, tomato vegan

First, don’t fear the tofu! I used to be terrified of cooking tofu. But, all it takes is getting the water out of it and seasoning the heck out of it. It really takes on any flavor you put in/on it. I actually made cheesecake with it over the weekend. And THAT was bomb.

Full nutritional information is at the bottom.

Ingredients:

  • Two slices of Dave’s Killer Bread (the small kind, not the big loaf), lightly toasted
  • Two 1/4 inch slices of extra firm tofu (I just cut these off the block), it was about 94g in weight.
  • Seasoning (equal to about 1.5 tbsp, dry)
    • I used: Chili powder, turmeric, paprika, garlic powder, ground thyme and ground Himalayan sea salt (I ground these two together from dried thyme and whole crystals)
  • 1-2 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp of veganaise (see note above)
  • 1 small roma tomato (about 54g)
  • 1 leaf romaine lettuce, cut in half so you have two sandwich-size leaves

Directions:

Heat a skillet on medium-high heat with a splash of oil.

Wrap your tofu slices (not stacked) in paper towels. Microwave for 1.5 to 2 minutes.

While that is in the microwave, mix together your seasonings and water in a regular bowl and stir.

When your tofu is done in the microwave, add it to the bowl of seasoning, making sure the seasoning mixture gets on all sides.

Microwave this for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Then add the slices to the hot skillet. Sear on both sides for a few minutes. I have found that it’s actually difficult to burn tofu. Woo! Fool-proof.

Once that has a nice sear on it, you can build your sandwich. Do I need to include instructions for this part? Probably not. 🙂

Last step! ENJOY THE HECK out of this protein-packed lunch. Nom nom nom.

I actually made two of these today because the first one was so successful (the second one was just as successful).

TLT tofu lettuce tomato vegan sandwich

TLT-nutrition

5 responses to “Nearly perfect TLT (Tofu, Lettuce, Tomato)

  1. My dads vegetarian and always feels a little left out on the sandwiches. I’ll have to give this a try next time, I’m sure he’ll appreciate it.

  2. I love Tofu, but I’ve never tried Tofu sandwich. This actually looks really good! I think I’m going to try this! 🙂

  3. Hey, I’ve just begun my vegan journey and your blog is awesome! Please keep posting. 🙂

    • Thank you Emilzy! Things have been a little crazy lately which is why I haven’t posted much. But, thank you for the motivation! 😀

Leave a Reply

