High Protein Vegan Pizza Crust

I normally don’t make my own pizza and if I do, I definitely don’t make the crust from scratch. But, today I was stuck at home because my boyfriend was using my car to go to work. I couldn’t go to the store to get a pre-made crust and I didn’t want to order a pizza on the big game day. #GoHawks!

So, I made up a recipe using the ingredients I had in my kitchen! It’s packed full of protein, low carb (relatively) and a healthy serving of good fats. (Scroll to the bottom for full nutritional info on the crust alone)

vegan high protein pizza

Ingredients (makes one 10-inch pizza)

1/4 cup vital wheat gluten
1 cup almond flour
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (vegan crack)
1/3 cup whole flax seeds

Instructions

In a food processor blend all of the ingredients until the flax seeds have been broken down pretty well. Put into a bowl and add a tiny bit of water (1/4 cup or less).

Form into a ball (it will be sticky). Using your hands first, try to make a fat disc of dough and put it on some parchment paper. Then, sprinkle either some more almond flour on it or wheat gluten and roll it out into a circular shape using a rolling pin.

Mine was about 1/4-inch thick.

Bake for about 8-9 minutes on 375 degrees (F) without any toppings (I just transferred the crust on top of the parchment paper to a baking sheet). Air pockets should start to form. Then, add your toppings. I used some left over spaghetti sauce actually. It had broccoli, peppers, and carrots in it. I also topped it with Simple Truth Meatless Crumbles and some more nooch (nutritional yeast).

Bake for another 8-10 minutes, or until the very edge of the crust is golden.

I was surprised at how well the crust held up to as many toppings I had on it. It broke on one piece, but that’s because I didn’t cut it in half before devouring it. 🙂

I would compare this crust in texture and flavor to whole wheat crusts. Except it’s not dry and bland!

vegan high protein pizza crust

Nutritional info for half of the pizza (crust only)

pizza crust

Leave a Reply

