Update on my food + my new found energy and passion for working out!

The last time I posted was when I thought I may have a thyroid issue (underactive thyroid) and when I was terrified of getting diagnosed with diabetes because of the way I was eating.

[I just want to add a note to all the nay-sayers out there that “the way I was eating” does not refer to me being vegan.]

Great, now that that’s out of the way…


I was filling my gullet with white pasta, white bread and all kinds of high-sugar carbs. Obviously, this is exactly the opposite someone with a family history of diabetes and an endocrine condition (PCOS) should be eating.

The day I got home from the doctor’s office, I switched up everything. It was a crazy day. I stopped eating wheat completely, not just white bread. I cut most soy products out of my diet (I’m eating soy now, keep reading) and I didn’t eat another banana (unless it was frozen and blended with peanut butter, but I will get to that in another post).

During those very difficult two weeks I actually lost five pounds, had loads of energy and actually WANTED to go to the gym. I was pumped! But, it didn’t last long.

The holidays came along and I was heading to my parent’s house. I definitely appreciate all they do to accommodate my vegan diet, but adding the “no wheat” to it all was really difficult for them. So, I said F it.

For that week and the next, I binged. I binged on vegan junk food, but I still ate very little bread.

I felt awful and not just physically. I was depressed, moody, annoyed and I felt worthless. I had definitely hit the bottom of my emotional and health barrel.

Since then, I have cleaned up my diet (but I’m not super restrictive anymore) and have started going to the gym again!

[By the way, this is the WORST time of year to go to the gym. I’m sure you probably know that. But, on the Monday after Jan. 1, there was probably as many people in my gym as there are machines for them to be on. It was completely nuts.]

Now, I go to the gym in the morning and there are probably a third of the people there than in the afternoon. Not only does working out in the morning give me energy to get through my day, it also frees up my evening. Today, I got in an extra cardio workout because I was feeling so energized!

Now, how do I get all this energy? It’s not from eating all raw food (a fad), not from eating a million bananas a day (another fad), it’s just from getting enough macronutrients for my body and my goals.

The day that I posed the question “What can I eat on a vegan, gluten-free, low-glycemic diet?” I was approached by a lovely human being by the name of Christine. She invited me to join Vegan Bodybuilding and Nutrition, a group on Facebook that’s dedicated to the science of nutrition and all that good stuff.

The people in that group (mostly the admins) have helped steer me in the right direction in regards to my health and weight loss. It’s really refreshing discussing my passion for veganism with intelligent people that know [A CRAP TON] about the science behind nutrition and food.

I feel like in the past couple weeks I have learned so much about the way my body uses the fuel that I give it and how I can use that fuel to change my body the way I want to.

As far as food goes, I am back to eating wheat (I don’t cook with it in general, but I won’t not eat something if it has wheat in it). I eat soy products (It’s really not bad for you, guys & gals, even the GMO stuff) and I try to eat low-glycemic (low is considered 55 or less GI) foods. I’m supplementing my diet with a protein powder that’s low-carb. It’s a pea protein and it’s chocolate flavored (delicious blended with some peanut butter).

Basically, I just give a fuck about what I eat now. (See Thug Kitchen cookbook, which I received as a Christmas present from my other half!) No more of that processed garbage, no more high-carb meals. I just balance my meals with proteins, carbs and fat and call it a day. It’s not hard, It’s incredibly simple actually.

In a broad sense, I think I’m the right path for sustainable health and fitness. I’m excited to see my progress in the next couple of months and I can’t wait to share it with all of you! I will be taking progress photos but I probably won’t reveal them until I have met my first goal (losing 20 pounds of body fat).

Update: I DON’T have an underactive thyroid. I was diagnosed with laziness and not giving a fuck about my health. Apparently, it affects a lot of people today. Unfortunately, there’s no test for these conditions unless you count “owning up to it” as a test. The cure is simple though! Get off your lazy bum and get your shit together. 

… I’ve obviously been reading way too much of the awesomeness that is the Thug Kitchen cookbook …

Leave a Reply

