Health issues may cause me to stop being vegan + a yummy winter salad

I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and I found out some info about myself that I really wasn’t ready for. I won’t go into great detail here (I will once an official diagnosis is made), but it may result in my having to abandon my vegan diet.

The bottom line is that I have one (possibly two) conditions, and the prognosis really depends heavily on the food I’m putting in my body. It has nothing to do with vitamin B12 or any of that nonsense. But it does have to do with the kind of food I can and can’t eat.

For starters, I may need to go gluten- and soy-free. Which would be a major change in my eating habits.

For now, I’m going to focus on eating Pacific Northwest fruits and vegetables, less wheat and more nuts and seeds.

My salad tonight has most of those things in it and it’s super delicious! It combines savory and sweet flavors with crunchy and soft textures perfectly.

Ingredients

Large handful of spring mix salad greens
Small handful of Italian kale
1/2 golden delicious apple
1/2 cucumber
2 satsumas
Green onion (white parts)

Dressing:
1/2 avocado
juice from 1/2 small lime

Directions

Chop everything into bite-sized pieces, but tear the kale, and put into a medium bowl.

Then scoop avocado into a small bowl and add lime juice. Squish the avocado so that this creates a paste. Add to salad and stir well.

7 responses to “Health issues may cause me to stop being vegan + a yummy winter salad

  1. Pingback: My new vegan journey | Animals Are Not Food·

Leave a Reply

