Parsley and Rosemary Mashed Potatoes | My Vegan Thanksgiving

Here’s recipe 2 of 2 today… mashed potatoes!

These turned out soooo good. So creamy and stick-to-your-ribs good. Growing up, mashed potatoes at my house were always the standard potatoes… boiled then mashed. It wasn’t until my brother went to (and came back from) culinary school that our family had any real “special” mashed potatoes. Obviously, his recipe included cream, and mine does not.

They look yellow because of the variety of potato I used, yukon gold.

They look yellow because of the variety of potato I used, yukon gold.

Ingredient break down (serves 4)

3 large potatoes, I used yukon golds (that’s why the photos look yellow!)
1 tbsp vegan butter, earth balance or smart balance with flaxseed oil
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used rice since it has the most neutral of flavors in my opinion)
1/2 tbsp parsley
1 tsp rosemary
2 tsp garlic salt (or to taste)

Begin by boiling your potatoes in enough water to cover them in large pot. Boil them on high until you can easily stick a fork into center of the largest potato.

Transfer to a large bowl or a blender (I don’t have a hand mixer, so I used my blender). Add milk, butter, parsley and rosemary. Blend, starting at a low speed, until there are no large chunks.

(Note: After I had my boyfriend taste test this recipe, he suggested that I melt the butter in a saucepan, add the herbs and cook it for a while. Then strain the herbs out of the butter and add the butter to the potatoes. That way, you still get the flavor of the herbs without the big chunks in your potatoes! He’s pretty smart, that one.)

Return potatoes to the large pot (without the water) and add garlic salt to taste. Stir and cook for an additional few minutes (3-5) on low-medium heat.

Transfer to a bowl for serving. Add gravy and devour!

Mashed potatoes and gravy

5 responses to “Parsley and Rosemary Mashed Potatoes | My Vegan Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

