Caramelized Onion Gravy | My Vegan Thanksgiving

Hello there! I’m going to be posting two recipes today because they go hand-in-hand. Mashed potatoes and gravy, or “the other beverage” as some people like to call it. This post will be about the gravy and later I will give you the recipe for my mashed potatoes.

I actually tested (and altered) this recipe three times. I don’t mean to brag (Okay! I kinda do), but this gravy is super delicious!

Let’s talk briefly about my previous tests of this recipe. First time I tried it, I added nutritional yeast because I didn’t have any marmite. Huge mistake. It turned yellow, much like the color of nutritional yeast. So, right out of the gate it wasn’t appealing to anyone. The second time I tried it, I finally got my hands on some marmite, but I added too much! If you have never had marmite, it basically tastes like concentrated soy sauce paste. It’s really salty and kinda gross by itself in my opinion (it’s yeast extract).

But the third time, I got it just right! Sounds like a children’s book I know…

wpid-20141117_234414.jpg

Ingredient break down (makes 1 cup)

1/2 onion, diced
2-3 tbsp canola oil (or other high-heat oil)
1 tbsp flour
2 cups vegetable stock
1 tsp marmite
1/2 tsp soy sauce

Start by caramelizing the onion in a medium saucepan. Add a little bit of the canola oil to the pan and turn it on medium-high heat. Once the oil the hot, add the diced onions. They will cook down a lot, so it’s not necessary to cut them super small.

Cook them on medium heat for a good 10-15 minutes, or until they are nice and brown (the color of caramel). If it seems like they are sticking to the pan, add a little bit of water to the pan. This makes them tendor and speeds the cooking process. If you want, you can also add mushrooms during this step. My boyfriend doesn’t like mushrooms, so I didn’t add them this time. But, they were really good in the second gravy I tried (minus the explosion of marmite).

Once done, put the onions in a bowl and set aside. To the hot saucepan (still on medium-high heat), add 1 tbsp of oil and then the flour. Stir with a whisk and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute. If it looks like mixture is getting doughy, add more oil. Cooking it longer will give you a darker gravy. I cooked mine for about 1 minute, until it was a little bit lighter in color than the onions. Slowly add in the vegetable stock, whisking the entire time. Bring to a harsh simmer and add in marmite and soy sauce. Add the onions back in and simmer on medium-high heat for about 10 minutes, or until it has reduced to almost half.

Gravy cooking

Remove from heat, and serve!

To save time on Thanksgiving, you can make this a few days ahead. It will keep nicely in the fridge for 3-4 days. Just heat it gently in the microwave on the big day and you’re good to go!

gravy

 

Leave a Reply

