Green Bean Casserole | My Vegan Thanksgiving

I finished perfecting this recipe just moments ago. Well, actually, I finished eating it moments ago. And it was DE-LISH! I couldn’t wait to get it up on the blog, so here I am.

It’s my second post in My Vegan Thanksgiving series and we’re making green bean casserole!

Green bean casserole is one of those staple dishes for the holidays, especially at my house growing up. My mom’s recipe was super simple, too. A couple cans of french-cut green beans and a couple cans of cream of mushroom soup. Voila!

But, that isn’t very vegan now is it?

I ended up testing this recipe twice, tweaking it the second time. I originally tried PETA’s recipe but was underwhelmed by its lack of flavor.

The one I created, however, came out so savory and delicious that I had to stop myself from eating the entire thing (I made a half recipe to test it) so that my boyfriend could try some when he got home from work.

vegan green bean casserole thanksgiving

 

Ingredient break down (serves about 4 people)

6-8 small mushrooms, diced
1/2 an onion, diced
1 tbsp canola oil (or any high-heat oil)
1 tbsp all-purpose flour
1.5 cups unsweetened soy milk
1 cube of vegetable (vegetarian) bullion
1 tbsp Italian seasoning (or other herb mix with at least thyme and rosemary in it)
1/2 tsp garlic salt, optional
2  14.5-oz cans of french-cut green beans (water drained)
1  6-oz canister of french-fried onions (I used French’s)
1 small can of sliced water chestnuts, optional

Start out by sauteing the mushrooms and onion in a large saucepan on medium-high heat. Don’t add any oil.

While those are cooking, warm the soy milk in the microwave, add the cube of bouillon and stir until it’s dissolved. Set aside.

Once the mushrooms and onions are slightly browned (not burnt), push them to the side of the pan. Add your oil to the pan followed almost immediately by the flour. Stir with a whisk until flour is incorporated and then start whisking in the mushrooms and onion from the side of the pan. Let this cook for another minute or so, then slowly add your soy milk and bouillon, whisking the entire time.

Let it reduce down (still on medium-high heat) for 1-2 minutes, until it’s thicker. Add herbs and garlic salt then add your green beans. Stir until combined. If you’re using water chestnuts, you can stir those in now (no need to cut them if they are already sliced).

Transfer to an oven-safe dish, top with french-fried onions. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until the onions are nice and crispy.

Remove from oven and let cool slightly before serving. Enjoy!

Vegan green bean casserole

2 responses to “Green Bean Casserole | My Vegan Thanksgiving

  1. This looks AMAZING! My mom and I were talking about what we were gonna make for our vegan Thanksgiving… I may need to bring this one up!! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

