New fav kitchen tool, good/bad Thai food and the best store-bought cookies on the planet

Mango Slicer

My new favorite tool to use in the kitchen is most definitely my mango slicer. Can’t you just use a knife? Glad you asked. Sure, you could use a knife to peel and slice your mango. But, this little tool helps you make little to no mess and I am much less likely to cut myself while using it. If you’re like me, and you eat a lot of mangoes and you cut yourself all the time (I actually just cut myself today while using a mandolin to slice potatoes for potato chips), then you should really get one of these!

Thai food

The other day I ordered some Thai food from a restaurant down the street from my house. I ordered something new, rice noodles with veggies and a peanut sauce. I asked for no meat and no egg (common in Asian noodle dishes). It was delicious! My aunt (who is not vegan) loved it too.

But, I did notice when I was about three-quarters of the way through my meal that they had not completely omitted all of the egg. I am not sure it was a mistake by the cooks and then they decided to just go with it. But, there was most definitely egg bits in my food.

This kind of upset me and I wish I would have called to complain to the restaurant because I was quite revolted by it. I don’t think I will go back there, unless it is to sit down and eat in the restaurant, so that I can be sure it has no egg in it before I begin eating.

Best store-bought cookies on the planet

I prefer to shop at Fredmeyer as opposed to Safeway because of the bigger selection of natural/organic and vegan foods they have. And luckily, there’s a Fredmeyer on my route home from work.

Yesterday, I was feeling very unsatisfied as far as snacks go. I decided to try and find some cookies to fill that snack void. I thought it was going to be a lot harder to find them than it was.

The second isle in the natural foods section of Fredmeyer boasted a line of “soft baked” cookies! On the box, they say they are gluten free, soy free, nut free and dairy free. (Too bad they weren’t actually free!) But I still had to be sure there were no eggs in the cookies. I’m not sure what everyone’s definition of “dairy” is, so I checked the ingredients. No eggs! They are completely vegan and ridiculously delicious.

They are considered “soft baked” which basically means they have a texture that’s slightly more airy than cookie dough. You could probably ball them up and create “cookie dough” balls. The kind I tried was “snickerdoodle.” But they also had chocolate chip and some other flavors.

If you need to satisfy your vegan sweet tooth, I highly recommend these. They are about the size of a 50-cent piece and there are 12 in each box. They cost a little less than $3.50 (US) per box.

Also, since the weather has been great these past couple days, I decided to break out my sun tea jar! Hello sunny skies, yummy ice tea, and sitting on the deck reading homework.

Also, since the weather has been great these past couple days, I decided to break out my sun tea jar! Hello sunny skies, yummy ice tea, and sitting on the deck reading homework.

 

2 responses to “New fav kitchen tool, good/bad Thai food and the best store-bought cookies on the planet

  1. Something to beware with Thai food – most recipes have fish sauce in them. So even though they may sound animal free the sauce still may have fish in it. Ask them if it does and if so, you can ask them to substitute the fish sauce with soy sauce. Just thought I would let you know!

Leave a Reply

