You’ll never look at ice cream the same again

When deciding to go vegan, I knew I was going to have issues with ice cream. Prior to learning about coconut milk ice cream (vegan crack), I was freaking out a little. Tonight, all my worries and misconceptions about ice cream made a U-turn and ended up in flavor town!

Sorry this picture isn't that great. I ran out of patience and I wanted to eat it so bad!

Sorry this picture isn’t that great. I ran out of patience and I wanted to eat it so bad! The texture of yours should be thicker, because my strawberries weren’t frozen. I didn’t anticipate using them! But I am sure glad I did!

I made strawberry-banana ice cream. With no milk, no added sweeteners, no ice, nothing. Just fruit.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 frozen bananas (slightly overripe and peeled before they are frozen)
  • 1/2 cup of frozen strawberries (buy fresh, then freeze)
  • A powerful blender or this amazing gadget (which is what I used)

This serves 1-2 people, depending on portion size.

If you are planning on making it in the evening, just throw all the fruit in the freezer in the morning or even around noon, they will be frozen by the time you make it (say, around 7:30 p.m.).

The texture is creamy and it tastes just as good (and better) as regular ice cream. And it’s 100 percent fruit!

I haven’t tried refreezing it and seeing if it turns out well after frozen. But that will happen soon.

Next, I’m going to try freezing a mango and make some “mango sorbet.” I might even try freezing part of a watermelon. For Thanksgiving, since my entire family is not vegan (but slowly heading in that direction), I am going to attempt Apple Pie Ice Cream, freezing peeled apples and blending it with some warm spices. I’ll keep you guys tuned about those adventures. In the meantime, enjoy your delicious desserts!

 

2 responses to “You’ll never look at ice cream the same again

  1. Ice cream was one of the hardest things for me to give up when I went vegan. My husband and I were in the seriously bad habit of sharing a pint of Ben & Jerry’s almost every night before we made the transition. Like you, discovering coconut milk ice cream was lovely, but mostly we’re okay without ice cream now. This treat you’ve shared sounds wonderful, however. Celeste 🙂

    • Yea, I am not craving sugary things anymore either. I have a pint of this chocolate coconut milk ice cream in the freezer and I have (maybe) a few spoonfuls of it every other week. But I feel awesome! 🙂
      You should definitely try this dairy-free, 100% fruit alternative!

Leave a Reply

