I did something crazy tonight

So if there’s one thing that I have virtually cut from my diet since becoming vegan, it would be bad fat. I’m talking about added oils and nasty trans and saturated fat, not the fat that is in good food naturally (like nuts and beans).

Who says you have to use oil when you’re sauteing vegetables? Normally, depending on the types of veggies I’m cooking, I can do it without oil. I just add a little bit of water and the veggies steam in their own juices. But tonight, I did something crazy.

I used coconut water! What?! Yea, but let me tell you, it was AMAZING.

Organic & vegan re-fried beans -- Photographing beans is not appealing, so I chose to photograph the label.

Organic & vegan re-fried beans — Photographing beans is not appealing, so I chose to photograph the label.

For dinner, I had to use up some organic, vegan re-fried beans that were in the fridge, fearing that they would go bad in a couple days.

So I sauteed finely chopped green onions, sliced cherry tomatoes, and red and yellow sweet bell peppers. I put them in the hot pan and then added about a quarter of a cup of coconut water. I waited until most of the water had evaporated and then took them off the heat.

Meanwhile, I heated the beans in the microwave. When everything was all hot, I combined them. Good grief, it was good.

It had virtually zero fat (probably about 3g from the beans), but with all kinds of flavor and nutrients. Plus, the coconut water added some more nutrition like protein and fiber.

Salad - greens, tomatoes, cucumber with a raspberry-walnut vinaigrette.

Salad – greens, tomatoes, cucumber with a raspberry-walnut vinaigrette.

I also added a delicious salad to my dinner menu. It had the rest of the cherry tomatoes, half a cucumber (chopped), and mixed greens. I added a raspberry-walnut vinaigrette too.

Altogether it was a successful meal!

3 responses to “I did something crazy tonight

  1. Wow, yum! We are oil free vegan, and our dinners look so similar. For a salad dressing we whip up almond butter+balsamic+raw carrots in the Vitamix. It’s sweet but tangy. Perfect for a salad. Nice picture!

Leave a Reply

