Tested on live rabbits?!

I saw this post today that had all this info about makeup products that are vegan and cruelty free. I decided that I should check if my makeup staples are vegan or not.

Bare Minerals blush and CoverGirl lashblast luxe mascara.

Bare Minerals blush and CoverGirl lashblast luxe mascara.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but I am a little bit. CoverGirl, according to wired.com, tests their mascara on live rabbits to see if it’s irritating to the eye!

If you didn’t want to click on the link provided, the exact excerpt is:

Ammonium acrylates copolymer:
Listed as “practically nonirritating” when tested on the eyeballs of live rabbits, this emulsifier and pigment disperser gives a nice glossy coating to the eyelash and enhances flexibility under the weight of all that iron oxide.

[Emphasis added]

Practically nonirritating? What’s “practically”? This slightly disturbs me.

Another makeup product that I use every day is by Bare Minerals. And this is what I found out about them:

…they are cruelty free, but their parent company is not. They also have some makeup brushes that are not cruelty free.

So the question here is, do you buy it because the product itself is cruelty free or do you not buy it because you’re supporting their parent company that isn’t cruelty free?

Well, it looks like my vegan lifestyle has swindled its way into the beauty department of my life.

6 responses to “Tested on live rabbits?!

  1. It really sucks. Companies use deceptive language on their websites too, to make you think that they aren’t testing on animals. I recently found out that a lot of my much loved products are tested on animals in order for the company to sell them in China. Guess I’ll use what I have until it runs out and then it’s off to find different brands (bye, bye Clinique) 😦

    • I’m in the same boat! I’ll use what I have because I don’t want to be wasteful, but after that I will buy other brands. I love the brush on the lashblast mascara though! 😦

  2. Thanks so much for the shout out! I am so happy that my little post inspired you to take a look at what was in your make up. I personally believe that buying from a vegan friendly company that might have some non vegan products or whose parent company is not vegan friendly is a great way to vote with your dollar and show those companies that you want the cruelty free products. It’s a very personal aspect of veganism, and I know that whatever decision you make will be the right one for you! 🙂

    • I think I will definitely make the switch. But I can’t afford to throw away everything I have. So when the time comes to get new stuff, I will look at vegan friendly brands! 🙂 Thanks for your post!

Leave a Reply

